Creating a New Kind of Doctor
We recruit and train physician leaders as comfortable taking on systemic challenges in health as caring for individual patients.
Radical Collaboration. Real-World Impact.
Texas expertise fuels the discovery, delivery and diffusion of the next generation of preventions, diagnoses, treatments and cures.
World Class. Close to Home.
We’re working to make person-centered, integrated care the standard in Central Texas and beyond.
Health Starts Here
More Information
Meet Dell Med
We’re rethinking the role of academic medicine in improving health — and doing so with a unique focus on our community.
More Information
Make an Appointment Give Faculty Students Alumni Directory

Dayna Diven, M.D.


The University of Texas Medical Branch


Residency, Dermatology
The University of Texas Medical Branch


Dayna Diven, M.D., is a professor in the Department of Internal Medicine’s Division of Dermatology. She served as faculty at the University of Texas Medical Branch for over a decade until she moved to Austin in 2004 to help establish the dermatology training program as its first program director. Diven has been active in teaching, research, and a variety of professional activities and community activities, including mission trips and legislative work. She has received several awards, including the Mentoring and Leadership Award from the Texas Dermatological Society and a Volunteerism Award from the American Academy of Dermatology.

Professional Affiliations
  • Texas Medical Association
  • Texas Dermatological Society
  • Liason to Inter-specialty Committee, 2014-2018
  • Texas Dermatological Society, President, 2013-2014
  • Women's Faculty Caucus
Awards & Honors
  • Member Making a Difference Award for Volunteerism, 2013
    American Academy of Dermatology
  • Robert G. Freeman, M.D. Mentoring and Leadership Award, 2012
    Texas Dermatological Society
  • Dermatology Faculty Teacher of the Year Award, 2011
    UT Southwestern, Austin Program
  • Dermatology Resident Award for Recognition of Excellent Faculty Teaching, 2005
    University of Texas Medical Branch