Creating a New Kind of Doctor
We recruit and train physician leaders as comfortable taking on systemic challenges in health as caring for individual patients.
Radical Collaboration. Real-World Impact.
Texas expertise fuels the discovery, delivery and diffusion of the next generation of preventions, diagnoses, treatments and cures.
World Class. Close to Home.
We’re working to make person-centered, integrated care the standard in Central Texas and beyond.
Health Starts Here
More Information
Meet Dell Med
We’re rethinking the role of academic medicine in improving health — and doing so with a unique focus on our community.
More Information
Make an Appointment Give Faculty Students Alumni Directory

E. Steve Roach, M.D.

UT Health Austin Care Team Member

University of Tennessee Center for Health Sciences


Residency, Pediatric Neurology
Wake Forest School of Medicine

Residency & Internship, Pediatrics
Wake Forest School of Medicine


E. Steve Roach, M.D., is a professor and associate chair for clinical integration and operations in the Department of Neurology at Dell Medical School. He is also co-chief of UT Health Austin Pediatric Neurosciences at Dell Children’s. Prior to moving to Austin in 2018, Roach was chief of the pediatric neurology program at Nationwide Children’s Hospital and Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio.

Roach is the founding editor-in-chief of Annals of the Child Neurology Society. He served as the editor-in-chief of Pediatric Neurology from 2012 to 2021 and is a past president of the Child Neurology Society. He has written or edited 10 books and has published over 200 articles, commentaries and chapters, most focusing on stroke in children, genetic disorders and neurocutaneous syndrome.

Professional Affiliations
  • Child Neurology Society
    Past President
  • Annals of the Child Neurology Society
    Founding Editor-in-Chief
  • American Heart & Stroke Association
    Member, Stroke Council
  • UT System Kenneth I. Shine, M.D., Academy of Health Science Education
  • American Academy of Neurology
    Prior Chair of Child Neurology Section
Awards & Honors
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
    Texas Neurological Society, 2023
  • Hower Award
    Child Neurology Society, 2015
  • Manuel R. Gomez Award
    Tuberous Sclerosis Alliance, 2002
  • Alumnus of the Year
    University of Tennessee College of Medicine, 1999