J. Stuart Wolf Jr. , MD, FACS

Portrait of J. Stuart Wolf Jr. , MD, FACS

J. Stuart Wolf Jr. , MD, FACS

Associate Chair of Clinical Integration and Operations

Surgery & Perioperative Care

After receiving his M.D. from Northwestern University, Dr. Wolf completed urology residency at UCSF and then an Endourology/Laparoscopy Fellowship with Ralph Clayman. He joined the University of Michigan in 1996, and over the ensuing 20 years he served as the Director of the Division of Endourology, the Director of the Endourology/Laparoscopy Fellowship, and the Associate Urology Department Chair for Surgical Services. In 2016 he assumed his current role as Associate Chair for Clinical Integration and Operations of the Department of Surgery and Perioperative Care at Dell Medical School of the University of Texas at Austin.

Dr. Wolf has served on the Executive Committee of the Michigan Urologic Society and the Board of Directors of the Endourological Society. He formerly chaired the AUA Practice Guidelines Committee, and is the inaugural chair of the AUA Science & Quality Council. At the University of Michigan, Dr. Wolf received the Silver Cystoscope Award for Urology Residency Teaching Excellence 3 times (1999, 2002 and 2005). He was appointed the inaugural David A. Bloom Professor of Urology in 2006. The Department of Urology awarded him the Faculty Service Award in 2011 and the Outstanding Achievement Award in 2012. He was inducted into the League of Educational Excellence of the University of Michigan Medical School in 2015, and that year he received the Program Director’s Award from the Endourological Society. In 2010, Dr. Wolf was elected to the American Association of Genitourinary Surgeons.

An author of more than 280 peer-reviewed articles and 150 invited publications, Dr. Wolf serves or has served on the editorial boards of 11 journals. His scholarly work has been recognized by awards and/or research grants from the American Foundation for Urologic Disease, the Department of Veterans Affairs, the Endourological Society, the American Society of Transplant Surgeons, the American Urological Association, and 2 sections of the American Urological Association.