Creating a New Kind of Doctor
We recruit and train physician leaders as comfortable taking on systemic challenges in health as caring for individual patients.
Discovery to Impact — Faster
We reward creative thinking and encourage rapid experimentation, using collaborative programs to speed promising research to market.
Improving Care. Improving Health.
We’re here to make health — including health care — better. The end goal is a complete revolution in how people get and stay healthy.
Health in the Landscape of Life
Enabling the healthscape, the ecosystem outside the clinic, requires improving the system to pay for health drivers.
More Information
Meet Dell Med
We’re rethinking the role of academic medicine in improving health — and doing so with a unique focus on our community.
More Information
Make an Appointment Faculty Students Directory Give

University of Illinois Chicago


Residency, Psychiatric Pharmacy
The University of Texas at Austin

Fellowship, Mental Health Outcomes
The University of Texas at Austin


Tawny L. Smith, Pharm.D., BCPP, serves as an associate professor in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Dell Medical School and has an additional appointment in The University of Texas at Austin College of Pharmacy.

Smith attended the University of Illinois at Chicago, where she received her Doctor of Pharmacy degree. She completed both her psychiatric pharmacy residency and fellowship in mental health outcomes at the UT Austin College of Pharmacy.

Smith is a board-certified psychiatric pharmacist. She has outpatient practices at UT Health Austin Women’s Reproductive Mental Health clinic and serves as a psychopharmacology consultant in the Mulva Clinic for the Neurosciences. She also practices at Ascension Seton Shoal Creek Hospital in Austin, where she is the director of the psychopharmacology consult service.

Smith serves as one of the core faculty for the Dell Medical School Psychiatry Residency. In 2014, she was the recipient Psychiatry Residency Program Faculty of the Year Award and in 2018 the Teacher of the Year Award. She is an active member of the College of Psychiatric and Neurologic Pharmacists and currently serves on the board of directors. She has over 70 published abstracts, peer-reviewed articles and book chapters in the area of psychiatric pharmacy.

Professional Affiliations
  • American Association of Geriatric Psychiatrists
    Grey Matters Coalition Member, 2019-2020
  • College of Psychiatric & Neurologic Pharmacists
    Board of Directors (Treasurer) 2019-2021; Resident & New Practitioner Committee Chair, 2018-2019; Program Committee Chair, 2012-2013
Awards & Honors
  • Teacher of the Year
    Dell Medical School, 2018
  • Therapeutic Case Report Award
    College of Psychiatric & Neurologic Pharmacists, 2018
  • Faculty of the Year
    University of Texas Southwestern Psychiatry Residency Program, 2014
  • Innovative Practice Award
    College of Psychiatric & Neurologic Pharmacists, 2012